Introducing 20TV

Hi there!

For the next few months at least, this blog will be home to my scattered thoughts on issues pertaining to television series in the 21st century. I’m currently researching this topic for an undergraduate independent project at McGill University (Montreal, QC).

My research is focused on three distinct aspects of contemporary television networks and series: (1) networks such as HBO and AMC and how they work to establish themselves as a brand; (2) the changing visuality and content of shows on these channels, and (3) new viewing experiences created and perpetuated by these shows. Ultimately, the course will lend insight into the future of television studies, taking into account its changing landscape.

In addition to recent theory regarding the topic, the course will involve close looks at The Sopranos (HBO, 1999-2007);The Wire (HBO, 2002-2008); Mad Men (AMC, 2007- ); and Breaking Bad (AMC, 2008- ).

I hope for this blog to be a space where I can collect my thoughts on my readings, examine particularly interesting episodes, and engage with current discussions about contemporary television studies.

Leave a comment